INTERREG: European Territorial Co-operation (ETC)

Interreg is a funding instrument of the European Union that stimulates cooperation across borders. EU countries are supported to jointly find solutions to tackle common challenges in fields such as environment, health, research, education, sustainable energy, transport and more.

Interreg covers one of the two goals of the EU Cohesion Policy in the 2014-2020 period (European Territorial Cooperation) through numerous programmes divided over three categories:

  • Cross-Border Cooperation: 60 programmes (Interreg A)
  • Transnational Cooperation: 15 programmes (Interreg B)
  • Interregional Programmes: 4 programmes (Interreg C)

For the period 2014-2020, a budget of EUR 10.1 billion for project funding is invested in those programmes. This budget is derived from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). Find an Interreg programme in your region on the interactive Interreg map external link icon.

POST 2020: Interreg programmes

As from 2021, the architecture of the European Territorial Co-operation (ETC) programmes will change significantly. Find the latest updates on the development of the new regional policy here external link icon.